Being placed atop a small hill in northern Croatia, Trakošćan Castle looks like a fairytale castle, proudly peeking its spires.

It dates back to the 13 century as pat of fortification system and small observation fortress for monitoring the road from Ptuj, Slovenia.

According to a legend, Trakošćan was named after another fortification (arx Thacorum) that was built at the same spot back in antiquity. Another source claims that it was named after the knights of Drachenstein who were in control of the region in early Middle Ages.

IM00

The later owners were Counts of Celje, which the same time ruled with entire Zagorje County (my hometown region!) 🙂 then in some moment it was even given to Ivanis Korvin – King of Bosnia and illegitimate son of Matthias Korvin, King of Hungary. Oh tempora! 

Trakošćan 1

Later Habsburg Emperor Maximilian I gave it to croatian noble Juraj Draskovic, so finally as of 16th century, Trakoscan belongs to Draskovic family until the independence of Republic of Croatia from Yugoslavia, when the castle started to be owned by the Republic of Croatia with the permanent exhibition of the building.

Trakošćan 2
Blazon of the noble Drašković family

The museum features large artworkcollection from the Renaissance to historicism, with pieces ranging from paintings to furniture and small armory. There is also a set of dungeons below the castle.

Trakošćan 3

Trakošćan 5

Trakošćan 6

The castle is surrounded by the artificial lake and a forest with numerous paths to walk. Today, people are coming on a sunny day to have a picnic with a great view on a mighty castle.

113 Comments »

  1. When someone writes an post he/she maintains the idea
    of a user in his/her brain that how a user can understand it.
    So that’s why this article is outstdanding. Thanks!

    Feel free to visit my website download 918kiss 2 ios; Aisha,

    Like

  2. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My website covers a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we could
    greatly benefit from each other. If you’re interested feel free to shoot me an email.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Wonderful blog by the way!

    My web-site … Joker888 Download

    Like

  3. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I have learn this put up and if I may I wish to recommend you some interesting things or
    advice. Perhaps you can write next articles relating to this article.
    I wish to learn even more things about it!

    my web site ex88apk

    Like

  4. Thank you, I’ve just been looking for info about this topic for a long time and yours is the best I have found out so far.
    However, what about the conclusion? Are you certain concerning the supply?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.