I was driving through the dessert of Atacama from the northern Chile to southern Peru. When I arrived to old city of Cusco – a historic capital of the Inca Empire from the 13th until the 16th century  when Spanish conquered. In 1983 it was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.

From the Cusco I took the very fashion tourist train to Aguas Calientes where from l climbed to Macchu Picchu.

When I finally arrived to Aguas Calientes, my journey to climb to Macchu Picchu started. It was the time of monsoons in Peru and semi rain forests were foggy, rany and cold. So I got myself a ride! Some local workers put me in the backside of their camionette and we arrived up in 20 min. The only problem was that I needed to lay down in camionette for about next 10 more min because their boss was going around the workers didn’t want to get their penalty. Long live guys, wherever you are 🙂 I will never forget your help and care.

And I arrived!

A 15th-century Inca citadel situated on a mountain ridge 2,430 metres above sea level. The lost city of Incas lays mystically on the edge of the hill. Amazingly how the city was built and erect in such a wild landscape. Most archaeologists believe that Machu Picchu was built around 1540 when the Incas were running from the spanish colonisation and the STD’s they were bringing with themselves.

Incas were using the language of Quechua (Macchu Picchu loosely translated means Old Peak) and respected the social structure. In the city of Macchu Picchu it is very well seen how the agricultural people lived on the lower parts of the cliff, while the priests and the supreme chief had their houses on the peak.

macchu-picchu-4

Incas were mostly growing corn and taking care of llamas. Llamas are still wandering there around as a reminder on once vivid city. I got friends with this one but then she spit into my face! Whatever I did to her…

Little information describes human sacrifices at Machu Picchu. Animal, liquid and dirt sacrifices to the gods were much more common, made at the Altar of the Condor.

coca-tea

Half a day I spent wandering around the city and finally decided to go down. As my ears changed the air pressure again, I decided to take the local’s advice and have a mate de coca (esp tea of coca leafs) to loose my ear plums. 🙂

